Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

St Wonnow's

For a long  time I've seen an old tower whilst driving along the A40 towards Monmouth (South Wales, UK) and just thought it was part of a farm building as there was no sign of anything else. Looking at a map this morning, I realised it was St Wonnow's Church (12th century)

I made my way to it, and even had to ask the farmer where it was as it's completely surrounded by farm buildings and no signs out whatsoever. He let me park in the farm yard and expolore and I took the main photo' of it before finding him again to ask for the key to look inside (see extra).

A lovely farmer, we had a chat for a while and he said his relatives were buried at the church less than 100 yards from his farmhouse! Sounds like the farm has been in the family for many years. It must rank as the hardest church I've had to find and nice to see it. I'll know from now on that the square tower I see from the A40 is actually a church!

Later this afternoon we collected granddaughter Amelia from school. It was her first day back after Christmas, so about three weeks since she last stayed overnight. It's freezing out so all play activity with her is inside!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.