Hillyblips

By Hillyblips

Out of the Darkness

Taken at 4pm the light had nearly gone but at least I had chance to see an owl hunting. I'd been delayed half way up Winchcombe Hill with a road block and detour of 20 minutes which threw my arrival time and as you'd expect I was greeted with, 'You've just missed them!' by a couple who were leaving. The stomping to my spot made me warmer though.

The wind had dropped thankfully but my goodness it was bitterly cold. That area seems really exposed so it was a question of going there prepared with thermals, hand warmers, gloves, heated jacket  (I'd had the foresight to fully charge the battery pack), neck warmer and a scarf. Waddling like a Michelin man, I could probably have rolled down the hill and although fun possibly, it wouldn't have been very practical. 

Watching the light fade and my ISO rocket to unspeakable heights I was about to leave when an owl appeared on the horizon which was fascinating to see flying and hovering over the vole holes. He is startled here as he'd suddenly spotted another camera hidden behind the wall - so much for camo gear! However I am doing him an injustice, as the Extra shows said owl landing within feet of him! Of course I wasn't jealous ......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.