Brian's Bits

By Kanyl

How's your Greek?

       Aye well! Another hole plugged.  I've just had a bit of a low ebb and slipped a bit; now attempting to fill the holes.
      This is one which didn't so much get missed as a case of, unusually,  having money left at the end of the Month; as opposed to too much Month left at the end of the Money - AND - having shot it on a day which turned out 2 B a gap.
      I frequently say English is my second language; Cumbrian being my first.  I am, in reality, NO sort of a linguist.  I might converse with a 4-5 year old French kid, AND took a whole two weeks German before I was evicted to do extra "A level" Maths, which I still failed. 
     However I can lay claim to being, like one of Shakespeare's blokes "a snapper-up of unconsidered trifles", like, bits of Russian Gleaned from a teacher decades ago and bits of Greek from School Science.  Like e.g.µ, Ω & ø etc.  Enough to be able to read all of this except for one letter; that "Gibbet" in the middle.
      Thus - ELLINIKI DIMOKRATIA with the centre saying LE?TA.  I'll just nip off and try and ID it.  As A. N. Other once said - "I'll be BACK!"
      Back - I can NOT find it. It looks like an upper case π = ∏ BUT with one short leg.  That being so - it must be a 50 LEPTA coin?
*~ * ~ * ~ *~ * ~ * ~ *~ * ~ * ~ *~ * ~ * ~ *~ * ~ * ~ *~ * ~ * ~ *
I've looked @ multiseveral 50 Lepta Coins online, including one dated 1926.  ODDLY it was the only one with a short-legged π/∏ like this one. 
( :¬o )
*~ * ~ * ~ *~ * ~ * ~ *~ * ~ * ~ *~ * ~ * ~ *~ * ~ * ~ *~ * ~ * ~ *

I'll have to dig out my Loupe to read the "Head" side.  I suspect it might be the designer in non-Greek lettering. GRRrrrr! Found Loupe; mislaid Coin.

I've also just spotted that "daft hat" is his/her helmet pushed back on "its" Head.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.