Living my dream

By Mima

Lifted

Elephant garlic and multiplying onions were lifted today, and are now drying out in the garage. 

The garlic I will plait and hang up, to use between now and this time next year, sowing a dozen cloves in May.

The onions will almost all be pickled. I’ll just keep enough back to use as seed for next year’s crop: again sowing them in May.

I picked the first Scarlett runner beans of the year and will be eating them for supper. Delicious of course.

And also the first six tomatoes; all golden nugget, which are always the first to ripen.

The crops are very good this year. I think the rain and sun has been falling and shining at the right time and in the right quantities for great growth.

It has evidently been just right for fly reproduction too. Every time I cook anything and when the windows are open, the kitchen fills up with blowflies and other slightly smaller, more high-pitched whirrers. They are infuriating. 

In an ideal world I’d have fly-screens on the windows and door, but the truck is too old, rackety and temporary to bother with such expense. However, it is definitely something to consider when I get my new kitchen cabin in three years’ time, even though it is only a problem for a couple of months in summer.

Thanks for your responses to yesterday’s cheeses. They did indeed taste as good as they look!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.