A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Old and New.

I don’t often follow the challenges but I do like a bit of macro photography and Vik1’s blip this morning prompted me to joining today’s Tiny Tuesday with a theme of  ‘a clothing detail’. For me it had to be buttons.

I do a lot of knitting but to me the buttons can make or break the finished garment. 
Here are two of my knits featuring special buttons. The first is a lovely warm cardigan made from Blue Faced Liecester wool. The buttons are vintage bought in Gloucester Road in Bristol. They are possibly Bakelite plastic.

I often, as in this case, buy the buttons first and then find something to make to use them. The button on the left is new and one of six hand made on Orkney bought a few years ago in Kirkwall. Each button is different and although they are ‘new’ this is the second garment I’ve used them on! I’m not always happy with what I knit for myself and if I’m honest I don’t wear this cardigan very often! (I do wear the Blue Leicester one quite a bit though)

Buttons are a crucial finish even if never fastened and as Grace says, when I knit for my granddaughters, they will happily wear anything as long as it has sparkly buttons!

Bitterly cold today, wore lots of layers to Pilates this morning,

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.