Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

WIDE WEDNESDAY - OLD

Well, I have looked at the theme for WW and it is “Old” but the only thing old about this is the person who was taking the shot!

It was a good job we went back to the Badbury Park Library today with all 15 books, because they were due back today, 10th January, and if we hadn’t taken them, it would have cost quite a lot in fines, but we made it in time.

We were the only ones in there one minute after opening, so it was good to be able to chat with Siân before a Mum arrived with her little girl.  I often tell Siân which books were really good so that she can put them on her “Reader Recommended” shelf and there were quite a lot today - in fact, probably too many for the shelf.

After we had sorted out some new books, I wandered over to the Children’s Section, where there is always a very good display and today was no exception - in fact, this was right up Mr. HCB’s street because it was all about birds, with some lovely soft owls to illustrate the point.  I do hope that lots of children have their appetites for books whetted when they see this.  It certainly pleased both of us and we told Siân she deserved a Gold Star.

There was a leaflet on a nearby table asking for a review of the library, which I was pleased to give, because we always get a ready smile, good service and recommendations for books.  Apparently, any reviews go to the Parish Council and as there are likely to be cuts in many services in our town, hopefully if people give good reviews, and I can’t see why they wouldn’t, then hopefully, Badbury Park Library, on a fairly new housing estate quite near to where we live, will stay open and not have its hours cut. 

I’m pleased to say that I have started my new antihistamine tablets and only knit for about an hour a day, so although I felt a bit sniffly last night after knitting and my eyes were a little twitchy too, I hope things will improve so that I can keep knitting.

I’m going to Worship Group Practice at Church tonight to see how I get on with standing up for a long time - but will ensure that I sit down between songs - so we will see how it pans out.

Now I’m going to fill in my new wall calendar, which arrived yesterday - don’t want to miss anything because it’s not on there! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.