Seeing Beyond Looking

By SandraSuisse

Eating for Health

After too much rich food over the holiday period, I decided to return to my usual (mostly) healthy eating habits.  To encourage me to become more aware of the food I am eating, and the affect it has on my health,  I watched a highly recommended limited series on Netflix called "You Are What You Eat." If you have Netflix and care about your health, I really recommend watching this - and taking notes!

This is my lunch today: Quinoa, sliced endives, rucola (roquette), grated carrot, avocado, fresh pineapple chunks, fresh pomegrante, Feta ewe's cheese, grated ginger and sesame seeds. The dressing is a mixture of sesame oil and rapeseed (the latter for Omega3) and a splash of low sodium soy sauce (Tamari). It was incredibly delicious!  The ingredients can be varied according to taste. Tomorrow, I'm making it with lentils instead of Feta.

I eat vegetarian most of the time, except for occasional white meat or fish.

I've seen this type of dish called 'Poke Bowl', but I've been making meals like this before I heard of the name!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.