PaulaJ

By PaulaJ

1920s

I signed up for a series of four online lectures/seminars - Women Writers of the 1920s. It's a period I have been interested in for a long time, especially concerning the issues faced by women after the First World War. 

In our own family history we have three different situations. My grandmother was married during the war and then spent such a worrying time wondering whether her husband would return from the foreign lands where he was sent - my grandad did return. Gordon's grandmother's first husband died in France and after the war she married an older man, a friend of the family - Gordon's grandfather. Then my great aunt who said to me once - 'the boys were all gone'. She made a career in music for herself and never married. I am sure everyone can think of similar situations in their own families. 

I have read many books about this time and also some of the fiction written in the 1920s. But these four books were new to me and I was keen to read them. An excellent lecture last night about Vera - a fascinating, but quite bleak, account of male tyranny over women. I had not met Elizabeth von Arnim before but would like to read more of her work. 

I was surprised when Agatha Christie appeared in this list but very interested as I have never read any of her books - I must be one of very few who admit to that. Crime writing has never been something I was interested in, but maybe this is the time . . . 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.