gennepher

By gennepher

Kaleidoscope

A completely new alert came up n the car display today.
Most disconcerting.
A picture of a yacht on water, and the word "SAILING".
I look out of the car window and check I am still driving on a solid tarmac road. My eyes tell me I am.
Then the yacht disappears...
Then it comes back on....with the word SAILING again
The car felt it was driving differently....
This has never happened before.

It kept happening...it happened a lot today.

I am trying to make sense of it..

All I could describe it as, was that the car was coasting. It was happening (my car is an automatic) when I lifted my foot up the accelerator pedal and was not pressing it...

I Google when I get back home.
Google tells me "It’s your car coasting in neutral to save fuel. A tap of the accelerator will wake the engine up again." And that it happens when your car is in eco mode (which mine is), and it is activated when the car goes over 40 mph and you lift your foot off the accelerator pedal and are not pressing it. My foot is still on the pedal, but it is not pressing down.

All I can think of is when the RAC man replaced the 12v battery, he somehow activated this SAILING function, because it didn't happen before this. Actually quite a few things on my car display changed with this 12v battery change.

Prior to this 12volt battery change, the engine was still engaged when I lifted my foot up (but not pressing, is the best I can describe this) the accelerator while driving.

The last time I coasted was in a manual car was well over half a century ago when I was a learner being taught to drive, the person who taught me to drive in 1966 told me do that when I was coming down a hill to save fuel, but I didn't think coasting was safe, you weren't in full control of a car, so I stopped doing it.

Now, over half a century later coasting is incorporated as SAILING on a Hyundai automatic car....

EDIT: further research tells me "This (sailing) mode is not dependent on being set and is an automatic function of the system." So, my car was never set right in the first place...it is apparently to reduce fuel consumption and carbon emissions.


Wildlife nighttime video
They nearly all turned up this busy night...
1min 9secs
https://youtu.be/3eGtmlhK6Gc?si=BA5ya5aSsg6SLkaQ


Sorry, too knackered to do a painting today, so a kaleidoscope of a wall hanging in my bedroom.

Going to sleep now...

You have a good night...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.