spannarama

By spannarama

Floody

Got up early, finished packing up and drove to the hospital in Taunton.  Stopped off briefly at Tesco first to pick up some bits for my Mum.  I got to the ward about 12:30pm, but she was fast asleep and didn't wake up until 2pm, when the nurse came to do her obs.  I just sat at the end of her bed WhatsApping my brother and sister, and reading the paper I'd brought for my Mum.

Once she was awake, I had a nice visit with her.  She's still not 100% (very upset stomach), but was in pretty good spirits, and we chatted away for the most part.  I also lined up the excellent Winterwatch 1963: The Big Freeze documentary on iPlayer on her phone for her.

I stayed for another hour and a bit, then headed off to try and get back to Wells mostly in daylight.  Had a tantalisingly beautiful golden hour and sunset all the way, and finally managed to stop briefly just outside Glastonbury, to take this photo of a flooded field reflecting the last of the light.

Saw Mum's neighbour when I got back, and updated her.  Had a rest for a while, then eventually forced myself to go out and get some milk from Budgens.  Had dinner, and a quiet evening on my own, then took myself off to bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.