Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Really?

Yes, really!!  After so many of you remarking on the early snowdrop two days ago my eyes have suddenly re-tuned themselves to wildflowers.  Here's another little selection of those out now.

The marsh marigolds I confess I took yesterday at Headbourne Worthy and I was a bit tired for buzzing off there again today, but I did go out to find some companions.  The iris I suspected of being a garden escape, but it does appear in my wildflower book (as 'Garden Iris', which is muddling).  The greater periwinkle (often found in gardens) is also wild.   My rather old fieldguide has greater periwinkles (vinca major) flowering February - May, Garden Irises (Iris Germanica) May - June  and marsh marigolds (caltha palustris) from March to August.  Isn't this astonishing for 10/11 January?  Well I guess that has to be global warming - though it didn't feel like it today!

So that's about it from me.  The roof man came round at last and it looks like I'm likely to have huge amounts of dosh squeezed out of me again.  Honestly, who'd own a house ;((

Take care, lovely blipmates  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.