Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

St Swithun's church

..at Headbourne Worthy.

I had a wonderful long walk today under clear blue skies and of all the shots I took chose this as my WidWed entry on BobsBlips' subject for today, 'old'.  Thanks so much, Bob.

This little chuch (with it's very old yew tree right of shot) is surprisingly tucked away beside quite a busy road.  I blipped it from this angle because the west end, seen here, is, I believe, the oldest part of the building.  A Saxon foundation and at least in part over 1,000 years old, it is, as its website says, dedicated to St Swithun Bishop of Winchester and was on the pilgrims' route from Cantebury to his shrine in Winchester Cathedral. The river runs by on all four sides.

So there we are.  Hugely enjoyable day but I was blooming cold by the time I got in and extremely grateful for my very ordinary little house!

Hope your day's been a good one  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.