dfb24

By dfb24

Farmer's Market

So far, today is one of those days when I should have stayed in bed! It rained most of yesterday, all last night & still today! At about 2:00 a.m. we had a powerfull thunderstorm go through that lasted over an hour! The thunder was so loud & booming that it shook the entire house, and the lightning flashes were so bright we could see everything in the room! Needless to say, didn't get much sleep. After breakfast I headed downtown to take some pictures in spite of the rain...parked the car, then walked onto the bridge to get some pics of the river when the alarm went off that the bridge was going up to let a boat go under (to go out to Lake Michigan). So I walked to the far side to wait. The boat goes under & the bridge starts to lower, & gets stuck! They raise it back up & lower it, & it goes a little lower, but still is about 6 inches from closing. So they raised it back up & down--same thing. Now 10 minutes & several more raising & lowering attempts later, as you can imagine there are cars lined up on both sides of the bridge that can't cross, & they're getting impatient, so they're all trying to make U turns to go around the other way! I could see the lady in the tower calling for help on the phone, so I decided I'd just walk back across as #1: it was ALMOST closed, #2: it would only take a few seconds, & #3: I'm tired of standing in the rain....forget the pictures for today! So I'm almost half way across when she sticks her head out of the tower window yelling "HEY! GET OFF THE BRIDGE!! GET OFF THE BRIDDDDGGGE!!IT'S NOT CLOSED ALL THE WAY!" (well, obviously)--so I smiled, waved, & kept on walking, figuring she wouldn't dare try to open it again with me on it. So she yells "BE CAREFUL--BE VERY CAREFUL!" ( & I hear her muttering loudly "moron!") Made me laugh--I felt like I was 5 & wanted to say "yes mother"(altho' my mother would have cracked the side of my head for being sassy!!) Anyway, I made it......left there & went to the farmer's market, which was pretty empty, given all the rain. I bought some strawberries & when the guy went to tip the carton into the plastic bag he missed & they fell in the mud! He asked me if I wanted those or different ones....(really????) I felt bad for him, but said I guess I'd prefer some non-muddy ones (he didn't laugh)....I bought some veggie's & the girl dropped her wad of money into the puddle of water that went half way under her table, so my change was all wet! But at least I got a really nice shot of the onions & radishes! Ha!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.