Gitama's World

By Gitama

Tomewin

When I drive up to Mums now I dont like to drive the highway...there are so many horrid trucks...hot sun blaring in the drivers side window and too many roadworks going on.... I usually arrive a bit stressed.....so I opt to drive over the Mountains via Tomewin......all the gorgeous trees provide lovely shade and I feel like I am going on a wonderful outing...it really is a lovely but longer drive.

So today Mum and I got into Dads mancave for a bit and threw some things out. To dismantle and bin Dads projects namely his whole library of copied Jazz CD's all shelved alphabetically....a project that took years to create has been heartbreaking. I could still see him sitting in there in his big chair with eyes closed listening to music from his huge speakers.
Music always sounded better when I listened to it with him pointing out so many things that told the story and what made a certain piece of music special.
He was a Double Bass player working with a rather fabulous trio and often did summer seasons in Spain. He had a most wonderful singing voice and would pay me when I was a kid to listen to all his music and write down the lyrics for him...so I could sing them all with him.

Many years later when I was living in a large house with lots of folk we would often have parties...of course Mum and Dad were always invited (everyone loved them)....Dad and I would get sloshed and would often be found in the pantry singing old songs....I would always remember the lyrics better than him.
There are so many layers to my Dad that time covered up and got lost in forgotten realms however deconstructing his life brings back so many wonderful memories and a sweet sadness that he isn't here anymore and in so many ways a deep gratitude that I had such a wonderful guide and protector in my life.

I took this picture on my way back home I really loved the stand of pine trees to the right and over to the left down the mountain lay the town of Murwillumbah.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.