BigD

By bigd

Harakeke

My first blip entry ever. The enthusiasm of a friend, combined with the desire to 'spend more time making photos' led me here... no more excuses...

Making photos... a photographer once told me you 'make' rather than 'take' a photo; it's active, rather than passive... you put effort in, you walk around a subject, you think about it, you try a couple of things, you look for an angle... and then you create.

I happened to have some time this afternoon to walk around and look for some photo opportunities. The sun stood low and its rays hit the leaves of the Harakeke (New Zealand Flax - Phormium Tenax) in the jungle we call 'garden'. These leaves are amazing and have a beautiful wee red edge... it lit up like neon... worth a shot I thought.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.