TMac

By TMac

Lichens and the Meaning of Life

In the summer of 2020, I took up kayaking.
Something I'd always wanted to do became a life-saver and a passion.
On my first kayak trip, I was in a double kayak with the guide who had asked us at the beginning of the trip if it was OK that his friend tagged along.
And so began a friendship.
Not only with our guide who has been a great support and friend in my kayaking journey, but with that "friend" of his who tagged along.


We spend hours chatting; often nonsense and more often, good honest and open human chat about life and its foibles. We enjoy discussing (making up) theories about everything from the tides to lichens. Especially lichens. We have bonded over lichens, despite neither of really knowing too much about them.
My friend is now undergoing chemotherapy for a resurfacing cancer and can't paddle.
I send him photos of lichens alongside my usual banter and nonsense.
So, this old bench in Trumpan Cemetary on Skye had very many photos taken of it so I could send them to him.
Although he's never been to this beautiful spot, I'm calling it "Willie's Bench" now.
We are lichens on a grand scale!


"We are Russian dolls, our lives made possible by other lives within us. But whereas dolls can be taken apart, our cellular and genetic helpers cannot be separated from us, nor we from them. We are lichens on a grand scale."
https://www.themarginalian.org/2023/03/25/lichens/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.