Getting the sparkle back

By DomesticGoddess

Blessed are they...

...that hear the word of God and keep it. This inscription is on Old St Ninian's Chapel  in Leith which dates from 1600 (according to the inscription over the door). I don't know what version of the Bible it is taken from - it predates the King James Bible, although that's the text I've used. It might be the Geneva Bible, published in its complete form in 1560 and used by Shakespeare, or the earlier Great Bible, published in 1539, or maybe another version - I’ve no idea what was in use in Scotland at that time. 

I blipped it on a short walk to get some fresh air while doing the first of a two day workshop on weaving at Coburg Studios with James Donald, with whom I did a one-day workshop in July. I did rather wonder if my brain would cope with it and I have to say that it didn't cope very well today! Still, I had decided to do the weekend workshop where you get to get to dress the loom, i.e. put the warp on (the vertical/longitudinal threads), just so that I knew how you did it. I'm not sure how my brain will cope tomorrow, time will tell, but James has so far been very kind about my shortcomings!

It was a beautiful day, sunny and still and cold.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.