JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

The Nailbourne after rain

It was less cold today, probably about five degrees, though still chilly, gloomy and fairly miserable. I walked down Vicarage Lane to the Nailbourne at the bottom of the valley. At this side of the village it's full but not overflowing its banks, though it was pooling a bit in front of the little low bridge in the foreground. I was surprised to find that the footpaths were not too waterlogged - a bit muddy, but not unpleasant for boots to walk on - so I walked a little way upstream. The light was low and the colours very muted and muddy, but I enjoyed the contrasting textures of the trees, dry grasses and seed heads and the way the light played on the water.

Later I picked some chard and cavallo nero; and J's PA had to leave early today, to I helped her with an online chat with a friend. She always enjoys catching up and sharing news, but was frustrated that her cough was interfering with her use of her voice activated switch, making communication even slower and more difficult than usual. She turned, as she often does, to her little cat to console and relax her: Millie curled up on her lap while she watched some more 1960s Dr Who episodes, and I enjoyed a blissful hot bath before dinner and mulled wine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.