Dolly's Day

By dollydoug

" everyone needs a Fabian Schar"

Newcastle had a home match today against Manchester City - kick off 5.30pm.  I went into town a bit earlier to do some shopping and drop off a big bag of blister packs at Superdrug.  Got to the ground around 4.45pm.

Great atmosphere as usual and lots of flags being waved.  There was a special display for my favourite player Fabian Schar.  He signed a new contract this week and will be with the club for another year... at least. I've added a photo I took of Fabian - its not very clear as he was at the other side of the ground.

It was a good match - quite exciting to watch.  Manchester City are a hard team to beat but Newcastle gave it a good go.  At half time the score was Newcastle 2  Man. City 1.  Man City equalised on the 74th minute and the match looked as though it would end in a draw... which would have been a fair result.  However the referee decided to add one minute of extra time.... and that's when Man City got the winning goal.  Such a disappointment to let that goal in at the very end with no time to pull one back.

The players have a break now as the next match isn't until 27th January.  The regular team must be worn out as there are so many injured players that there has been no chance to make substitutions to give players a rest.  The manager has decided not to have the usual " warm weather training break " - he wants the players to rest and spend time with their families.  Very sensible idea I think. Hopefully they will have renewed energy when they face Fulham on the 27th in the FA Cup.

I went straight from the ground to the bus stop and only had a short wait for a bus home. 

The weather today wasn't too cold during daylight hours but after dark at the match the temp dropped and it got quite chilly.  I had my thermals on but I still felt cold.  Even when I got  home I took ages to warm up. 

I've added an Extra - a photo Neil sent of Luna and her brother Cooper - they had fun together at the beach this morning.

Steps today - 8,372

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.