Living my dream

By Mima

Ripening

Because this is the first year that my six apricot trees have borne fruit, I haven’t known what to expect. I had assumed they were all the same variety of tree, but it seems that they are probably three different ones. That’s if ripening times are an indicator of variety.

Two trees have shed their load of fruit already. This one hasn’t yet dropped a single apricot, although they look very nearly ready. Two others are still covered in quite immature green fruit, which I don’t expect to be ripe for at least a month.

Whoever planted the trees did me a favour. The length of time that the full crop will take to ripen prevents me becoming completely overwhelmed with apricots demanding attention all at once.

It’s been a cooler day with some rain thrown in for good measure. Not much, but it was good to see it falling after the wee reminder of the danger of wildfires yesterday.

I picked a couple of kg of raspberries first thing, before the rain. They are all on trays in the freezer, to be collected by a friend tomorrow who will also pick some blackcurrants and redcurrants. The previous pick of raspberries has now dehydrated and is cooling before I decant it into a container to be stored in the pantry.

Today’s cheese is a Feta. It’s draining overnight and will go into brine tomorrow, ready to be eaten in a couple of weeks’ time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.