Living my dream

By Mima

Lifted

The garlic came up today. This is the best crop I’ve produced for years. Every bulb is big and beautiful, and I’ll definitely be selecting some to put into the A&P Show next month. They are drying in the garage, alongside the elephant garlic and the multiplying onions.

G came round this morning to pick some raspberries and blackcurrants for her freezer. She grows raspberries, but not in the industrial quantities of Chez Mima. And her blackcurrants failed this year.

Since I constantly feel in her bartering debt as a result of the free milk I get from her cowshed, I am delighted to provide her with extra supplies of soft fruit.

The rest of the day has been a series of watering and harvesting tasks, as well as clambering up the ladder to clear various gutters. I did the latter job while G was here because it’s always reassuring to have someone else on the property when I’m indulging in dangerous activities. Just in case…

Bean had a simply exhausting day, supervising two people for part of the time. As you can tell from the extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.