Jillian's Journal

By Daring2Go

When are you going …..

….. ….. ….. to take me out somewhere? Anywhere!
This is Missy coping with cabin fever!

She’s certainly improved compared with yesterday. What a relief! Still not drinking much which is strange, but I’m happy to keep taking it slowly. She’s eating and loving the good food that the Vet recommended, and eating more too. I’m mixing that food with some extra water.

I’ve been reading a lot about heat exhaustion, especially regarding dogs not knowing when they’ve done enough. The thought that has helped me the most is that if the temperature is high and it’s humid, don’t take your dog out walking. I’ve been walking Missy early mornings and looking for some shade, but it’s obviously not been enough.
Plus, she’s been eating lots less, which seemed to be due to it being hotter, but I think I’ll be seeing it as more of a clue in future and take extra care.
So fortunate that that lovely Vet yesterday was the same that saw her a year ago, when I was concerned enough to have her heart checked out. No problem there then or now.
It rained steadily overnight plus this morning, which has kept the temperature lower today. Very welcome! Very windy this afternoon though, and a bit warmer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.