An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

January sky…

Today has been very relaxing.

Started with a lie in. One of those great ones where you half wake up then sink back into slumber again. I did that about three times eventually waking properly just after 10am.

The afternoon was relaxing too. Decided to make cottage pie for dinner so music on and enjoyed preparing the beef mince for that. Once that was done I rolled out the left over Empire biscuit dough from the other day and now there’s a wee secret batch in the freezer waiting to be jammed and iced when the need arises.

Coffee and an hour of crochet, which is great thinking time and I think I’ve come up with a great idea for a wedding present for a friend’s daughter. She and her fiancée are a very successful young couple who have everything they could possibly need already so it’s a difficult one.

Not going to say what my idea is yet as need to think it through (and may conclude it’s a stupid idea) but once it’s properly formed in my mind I shall seek your thoughts :-))

Cottage pie was delicious! Think this is only the second or third time I’ve made it and this was the best. Thanks BBC good food website :-)

Then time for Shetland. First two episodes of Series 5. I’m going to be heartbroken when we reach the end of the Doug Henshall episodes.

But the most exciting news from today is we’ve booked a summer holiday in Wales :-)) It’s in a beautiful cottage on the Llŷn Peninsula. We holidayed in Pembrokeshire the year after we got married. It’s our 35th wedding anniversary while we’re there so I think we’re overdue a return to Wales :-) Really looking forward to it.

Ele has been trying so hard to get me to their place in Spain but I can’t imagine ever flying again. Could ferry to Santander then drive for 10 hours but that’s not particularly appealing. Will think about it though. Maybe next year :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.