An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Salt of the earth...

Day got off to a good start as woke up feeling I'd slept well, then late morning I had a lovely FaceTime chat with a Blip Pal who has recently taken up watercolour painting and had some questions that I attempted to answer and hopefully tell her the things I wish I'd known when I took it up in 2019.

One of the things we discussed was getting texture into watercolour paintings and I was extolling the virtues of salt for this very purpose.  When we finished chatting I made a short video to demonstrate the effects salt can give and the only photo I took today was of the salt/water effects so that's my blip!

Over lunch D and I had a chat about the organisation of our kitchen cupboards that's the level of exciting chat in our house!  I am becoming more and more frustrated that items I use a lot (certain dishes, baking equipment and even teabags and coffee to name a few) are inaccessible to me now that I am in my wheels a lot of the time, so some things need to change.  

I had a look at all the cupboards the other day and cupboards in the utility room and realised a lot of them are full of things we only use very occasionally (eg lots and lots of glasses we bought for our joint 50th birthday party) and two cupboards full of Christmas crockery.  A plan has been hatched.  

All the items we use only occasionally will be packed up and put in the loft.  Items we've not used in the last 5 years will go to the chartity shop.  This will allow us to move items that I need / use a lot to more accessible cupboards, as well as force us to get rid of things that are taking up space for no good reason.

The massive clear outs we had of all the large cupboards in the house last year has really given us the bug to get rid of all the things we don't need/never use.  Far better they go to someone who would use them.  So we know what we want to do, we just have to agree a date when it will be done.  It has to be a day where we both have the whole day free as I want to get it all done in one go.  Can't be bothered with the kitchen being in a state of upheaval for more than a day! :-)

This afternoon I got some crochet done.  The shawl is almost finished.  I've really enjoyed this project as the pattern is simple enough so mistakes are few but interesting enough to prevent boredom creeping in.  I've got the yarn in for my next project and I am really keen to start that, so it's proving to be a good incentive to get the shawl made.

Fajtas for dinner then settled down for tonight's episode of The Traitors.  Hoping to go to Glendoick Garden Centre tomorrow morning.  I've told David it's to buy some potting compost but in reality I want to see if they have a sale on of Christmas Decs.  Shhhhh...don't tell him!  ;-))


 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.