Day at a Time

By Tweedy

Reupholstery

I have a neighbour who is a skilled seamstress and reupholsterer. Today she's coming to collect three chairs and is going to work her magic. 

The fabric in the blip, peering out from its protective covering, is to refresh a bedroom chair which stood in my mum's bedroom. When we cleared her flat in 2017 I couldn't bear to part with it, though it's not a great piece of furniture. It's stood in our bedroom all that time and is now bound for a new lease of life.

In this tightly wrapped bundle is different fabric for two small armchairs. When we first moved to Stirling there was a saleroom (now the site of student accommodation). It was a wonderful place. There we bought a Victorian three piece suite for £15. The sofa, reupholstered and recovered,  is in daily use. The chairs are in need of a refresh. The furniture is so solid - brilliantly made and it's worth spending some money to keep it going. I'm looking forward to seeing the chairs in their new clothes! 

I find this kind of choice tricky. I'm always worried I make an expensive mistake ( I've done that in the past). The fabric I've chosen for the bedroom chair isn't too out of keeping with the style, I hope. But it's definitely a bit cheerier than the current fabric. I just have my fingers crossed that it all works out attractively. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.