WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Spotlit

I saw this yesterday and didn't get the photo I wanted due to the difficulty of getting camera settings right for such a contrasty scene. So I went back at the same time today, just as the sun made this spotlight. Unfortunately the sun wasn't as bright as yesterday, but some fartnarkling tweaked it to acceptability (at least if you look at it in large!). It's been very mild today, nice for a walk, but I decided I couldn't blip vines again.

As I was walking that way I stopped in to see Sue, who got back from the UK yesterday. As luck would have it, she'd just boiled the kettle, so we had coffee and a chat. I hadn't seen her since we went to Spain at the beginning of October, so it was nice to catch up.

Ever since  lockdown, when we kept shopping to a minimum, I have found real pleasure in concocting meals from leftovers and things hanging around in the vegetable rack. Today I had part of a box of frozen chicken stock I'd used for yesterday's chicken in a wild mushroom, PX sherry and cream sauce (yum, thank you Diana Henry), so I combined it with a couple of surplus carrots, a leek, and some potatoes that needed using up to make potage bonne femme, one of my favourite soups. Real comfort food! Now the wood burner is burbling happily and I am snacking on various bits and bobs from the fridge, with a glass of wine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.