David J. Rose

By djrose007

RAF Gan Blue Lagoon Movements

Going through tons and tons of F.M.i.L.'s stuff to sort it out and distribute where appropriate.
Millions (almost) of photographs which Marlane has sorted and I am scanning to digitise them.
This one is a great memory for me as well as she and my F.F.i.L.
A few days after my marriage to Marlane her father flew off to his posting at RAF Gan, Maldives. It is the most southerly island of the most southernmost atoll of the Maldives, Addu Atoll.
Two weeks later I followed him and spent the next 7 months working, and sometime playing, with my Father in Law, Sgt Peter 'Ziggy' Zegveld. When I say playing, we did occasionally drink together and played golf often. The golf course was pretty much the entire perimeter of the island barring the actual camp area. 
See extras
There was an annual Dhoni boat race between all of the sections on the island. When I was there, 1975, it was the final race as the base was closed down in March 1976. I left the island in February 1976 after closing the communication centre.
While there I also had a three day trip to Sri Lanka, heading up a dinghy sailing team. I was the only qualified racing helm on the island so the Commanding Officer asked me to get five others trained up quickly so we could send a team of six to sail against the British High Commission at Lake Bolgoda where the 'Royal Ceylon Yacht Club' was located. Yes, Royal and Ceylon, they were clinging onto colonialism more than we were! The BHC annually challenged RAF Gan to a sailing competition, so this was another last for me and the station.
What a posting, all that sailing, drinking, going to the cinema, playing golf, snorkelling in the lagoon. I sometimes even had to go to work.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.