Global Attitude

By GlobalAttitude

Taming the Shrub

Yesterday I blipped a collection of close-up images captured in my wild garden. Taken individually (and fully out of context!), the flowers are beautiful. But truth is, Eden is out of control. At least a decade or so ago, someone painstakingly planned a perfectly landscaped yard. But years of neglect before we rented this property led to an overgrown, crowded, weed-infested quagmire. The fact that I have two left-thumbs and despise yard-work doesn't help much.

But I love my garden and relish time out doors. So I'm trying my best to maintain the precious plants and maybe even improve the growing conditions. Thus, hubby and I spent most of the dreary, drizzling day (over 8 hours) digging up plots, pulling weeds, trimming shrubs and trees, cleaning the pond, etc... I think we've barely made a dent in the mess. I took this shot from our upper balcony about half-way into the project - when I ran to the bathroom to extract spiders from my hair and soil from my socks. It's a good things insects don't bug me ;)

Tomorrow, there's still much more to do. I wish I had a clue about landscaping; we're just muddling through. Hopefully the result will be more beautiful blooms next Spring and Summer!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.