Global Attitude

By GlobalAttitude

Herman the German

My 14-year old son has an obsession with war history, particularly all thing related to Ancient Rome. Virtually since we moved to Germany he has begged us to go to the site of some 9th Century battle where the Germans purportedly defeated the Romans and gained freedom for German territory east of the Rhine. And today, we decided the only thing less appealing than indulging our son with a day trip to Teutoburger Wald and the Hermannsdenkmal might just be a second consecutive day of garden work :)

Luckily, friends decided to tag along and the threatening rain stayed at bay, providing for a much more enjoyable experience than we anticipated on this little historical class field trip where my son regaled us for hours with lessons on war heroes and strategic victories.

I'd love to recap more of the day, but both my laptop and iPad have crashed and I've too little patience to type lengthy text on my phone - so you're spared the dull details :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.