The second half of life..

By twigs

Chester

Had a terrible night's sleep last night and woke this morning with a solid 3 or 4 hours tucked under my belt.  Uurghh!  Think I'll sleep well tonight.

Ride with J & M out to Brightwater and back - lovely day for it.

Was sitting in my garden cooling down after I returned home when I heard  an odd noise.  Raised my head to see this chap racing up my driveway, heading for the garage.  Whaaaaattt.....???  Who are you.......and where on earth did you come from?  He seemed friendly enough though understandably hot and bothered.  We looked around up and down the road for anyone who may have been out looking for him......nothing.  He did make a bit of a dash across the road which scared the living daylights out of me.  I remembered I had a rope/leash in the van (found in the back of beyond on a trip a few years ago......I knew it would come in useful one day!) so I hitched him up to one of my garden benches under a tree, poured him a bowl of water then started making enquiries.  Collar tag said "Chester" and had a phone number which I called.  No answer.  I left a message.  His council tag had his council number on so I called them up in the hope they had more ownership info on file.  Obviously they couldn't pass any info on to me but I left the necessary details and was told they'd call the numbers they had on file, then I rang his tag phone number once again.  10 minutes later my phone rang.  Chester's mum had no idea he'd got out until she found a swag of messages on her phone and neither did she have any idea how he'd got out, but she was immensely relieved to find him safe and happy.  

As a staffie cross he was a breed of dog I struggle to warm to, but I have to confess, he was pretty cute and very friendly.........and quite photogenic ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.