Charlotte

Another fantastic day in London. After a decent breakfast at the hotel we hopped on the tube over to Notting Hill where Helena had arranged a studio visit for us at Pentagram, what a fantastic place! The offices were huge and there was some fantastic work on the walls, also with Paula Scher being a partner there was one of her artworks in the foyer. The ethos at the place looks fantastic as well, one example is the work area where all 55 staff head to at 1pm to take lunch together which is provided by the company. Since they first opened in Notting Hill in 1972 they have had chefs come in to make lunch for all the staff as, even though there are places like Ottolenghi nearby now, when they opened there weren't many places nearby for food. Having a communal team lunch every day rather than staff eating at their desks encourages staff to bounce ideas of each other too.

After that the others were heading up the road so I headed up to the station with them as they were taking my bags back up for me since I'd decided to stay another night. Once they'd set off at 2 I headed down to grab some lunch then went off to the Tate Modern.

I was primarily heading to see the Eggleston room they have recently set up. I love his photos in books but the book prints don't capture the full intensity of the dye transfer process he used for his prints. They were stunning in the flesh. If you're in London I'd absolutely recommend going to see them. They're in the fourth floor gallery.

I stayed there until just before six before heading to meet my cousin Charlotte who works just on the other side of the milennium bridge. We grabbed a bus up to Shoreditch where we met up with her boyfriend Will in Brewdog for a couple of beers. It was great to catch up for a couple of hours.

They are both in their community choir in Bow and had a gig in the morning so I headed off to meet an old friend Chris who I used to DJ with at Soma back in the mid nineties. He'd been down in London for quite a while now. I met him at the South end of Kingsland high street where we had a quick drink before catching a bus up to the other end as the plan was to eventually head on to the Optimo night at dalston Superstore. We had drinks in another couple of places then grabbed some food at a great Turkish place, before heading into the Superstore.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.