MarilynParker

By MarilynParker

Winter wonderland

Got up this  morning and opened the shutters - oh! I thought it might snow but it so often misses us where we live (St Helens, Merseyside). I bet there were some very excited children this morning.
It looks pretty when it's new but it's not so nice for driving or walking and I had an appointment at the GP surgery for 11:20 am.
It snowed again a little before 11am but didn't last long - some huge flakes were falling so it's a good job it stopped.
The main roads were fine but the side roads not good at all - fortunately we didn't have much driving on side roads.
Schools were closed and trains cancelled in Merseyside. Don't get me started about that! Back in the 80s I lived in Huncoat village in Accrington, Lancashire and every winter we had lots of snow, wellies and sledges stuff yet the schools never closed and the trains were running. The winter of 81-82 was horrendous for weeks and I went to work every day on my Yamaha 90 motorbike (slowly, I might add). Nobody considered a duvet day - we'd have been disciplined or sacked.
It is still melting this afternoon but I have the feeling that it's not going to fully melt and then it will freeze overnight.
We are supposed to be going geocaching at Hale village (SE of Liverpool) and close to the estuary tomorrow but I doubt we'll get there as ice is forecast - geocaching is no fun in snow or ice anyway. 
Worse still - my friends are due to take their daughter to the airport at 3am tomorrow!
MY BP has been fine at home and even the reading this morning was normal but at the surgery it was raised again. GP is going to review readings this afternoon. I think the pulmonary rehab assessment will be off the cards completely as my BP is bound to go up again when they check it. Even thinking about having it checked puts it up!
Extra photos are of our back and front gardens, taken from inside through glass - the best option today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.