flavia13

By flavia13

BARTON MANOR HOTEL, PRESTON

Well what a 24 hours it's been.  

We got to the Barton Manor Hotel, no problem yesterday.  Spent a couple of hours at Barton Grange Hotel to while away the time.  The Barton Grange is only a few minutes after that, just outside Preston.  It's not cheap but then it's a treat and a nice hotel to stay in.  

The room was enormous and very pleasant.  The staff were very nice. We went for a meal in the restaurant in the evening.  The food was delicious but because it was their Table d'Hote menu the portions were actually quite small.  I wish we'd known that we could have ordered extras but that wasn't obvious.  Still we know if need be again. If fact I would just go A la Carte next tie anyway.

Still the evening was pleasant enough.  The bed was ENORMOUS and very comfortable.  However we had't realised that the air con unit was also heating the room and pleasant enough during the day but too warm for us night - discovered in the middle of the night that it can be adjusted!!!

Woke up this morning to quite thick snow for Preston.  I went out to take a few photos and have a little play in it.  Spoke to the Receptionist, who lives near the hospital and she said the main road was fine but it did take her twice as long to get in this morning.

We left the hotel for the hospital at about 9.15, thinking it would be enough time for the traffic to have died down. IT WAS NOT.  It turns out the traffic was worse than usual because of the snow and it was still falling heavily.

We got to the hospital in plenty of time, managed to get parked (which is a night mare are Preston).  We had our appointment, but it was a bit of a rigmarole to get it.  We ended up seeing a Radiologist, who really only told us what we already knew and Hubby just had to sign a form.  He didn't understand why they couldn't have done this on the same day as the Pre-Op Assessment next Tuesday!!!!  We won't stay over for that as the appointment is lunch time so it will give us plenty of time to get there.  

I drove home via the A6 towards Lancaster because I'm afraid motorways always scare me in snowy / icy conditions.  The A6 was actually very good and the snow was very intermittent, changing from one village to the next.  

I decided to join the M6 at Junction 33, but wish I hadn't it.  The traffic was light but even so the spray was horrendous and there were times I couldn't see more than a few yards ahead of me!!   Most people were driving well to the conditions, there are always some that think they're immune though, but to me they're better off out of my way anyway.

So I left the M6 again at Junction 34 and drove up the A6 again through Carnforth.  No problems here.  The worse of the weather was actually at Beetham, but again the A6 was fine.  We stopped off at Beetham Nurseries for coffee and lunch because I just needed a rest.

We got home to Grange not long afterwards, all snow gone because it was now raining heavily.  Could be worse tomorrow as it is meant to freeze overnight so I won't be going anywhere tomorrow.  Hope they've got that wrong.

Anyway that's enough of my adventures for now, sorry for the lengthy blip.

I do so hope you are OK.  Do take care and stay safe and I will see you all tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.