CrocusMan

By TonyG

Night Out

Tuesday Singers are low on numbers at the moment, not helped by several being on the same committee which met tonight.  So, I took myself off to Aberystwyth to investigate Gwerin Aber Folk who had an open mic performers night at a bar in that town.   I combined it with getting the car's brakes checked as there's been an odd noise and found it can wait till next week when my local garage can fit me in.   There was also the chance to pick up supplies, shopping around to fill the time I found several of my staples at much lower prices than I pay at home.

The evening was everything I had hoped for.  Thirteen performers, all talented and a nice mix of folk, roots and blues music.  The only non vocalist was this instrument maker with a recently finished, rather unusual guitar on which he played jigs and reels.  I'll definitely be going again, hopefully joined by a friend or two from Tywyn and there's also a monthly singaround which should be at least as much fun.   Shame it's a seventy mile round trip but it was certainly worth it :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.