Living my dream

By Mima

Woman of mystery, that’s me.

There’s been no time for blip today…a morning in town and then an unexpectedly early visit from a friend all afternoon, with just enough time to pick the raspberries in between. 

And so my day was filled. 

The morning didn’t turn out as I’d anticipated. 

As is very often the case, once I’d arranged today's dental appointment the pain in my tooth gradually subsided, until by the time I sat in Nick’s reclining chair there was no ache whatsoever. 

He took X-rays, prodded all the teeth in my mouth, tested the gums, got me to bite on a special bite-test gizmo, and blew cold air onto and into every tooth and gap between them. Nothing. Not a jot of pain.

The X-rays showed all my fillings in place with no gaps behind them, no new cavities, no signs of abscesses, and no visible cracks. The working theory is that it is a crack so fine that it’s not visible. Yet. He merrily informed me that if he’s right it will get worse in time and he’ll be ready for me when that happens.

The only other suggestion is that my teeth were slightly out of alignment top and bottom, so may be slipping and causing pain in my jaw. So, like a horse, I had my back teeth ground down slightly. Happily he didn’t use a rasp.

But the pain really had Nick stumped. It’s a mystery.

The car went to the garage for service, WOF (Warrant of Fitness) and for Gary to investigate an occasional hiccuping of the engine, about which he had a strong suspicion.

When I went to collect the car he’d found absolutely no reason for any engine misfiring. He cleaned out a couple of things, more in hope than conviction. Gary too was stumped. Mystery number 2.

For the pleasure of being a woman of mystery I paid more than $400. I’m not entirely sure it was value for money, however much I enjoy being mysterious - simply because it is so very far from my natural state.

These raspberries are loaded into the dehydrator ready to spend the next two days drying out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.