4Sam3388

By 4Sam3388

Manchester United v the All Blacks

Today was a bit of a bad day on the road. My travelling colleague John picked up something from the food or water which saw him in a bad way half an hour into our journey towards the opposite coast. With his condition forcing him into the bushes every ten minutes we decided to head back to what we knew than head on into the unknown. This would be a safer option should his condition deteriorate any further. Luckily it was the right choice as he did get worse before things got better. It has thrown our trip planning a bit but we will decide how to deal with that later today.

Whilst John was laid up I tried to find a place to watch the All Blacks v France rugby test which was being screened live through satellite TV. There weren't many places that even knew about it or even showing it.

It is amazing the volume of Manchester United merchandise that is around and about here but no one knows much about the All Blacks. Well I managed to find a little place that was prepared to change their channel from football to rugby as long as I bought some food or drink which seemed fair.

I did however see this Singha beer sign illuminating the wall of the place with a Manchester United scarf draped over it. I popped back to my room and grabbed an All Blacks small draw string shoe bag that I had which I gave to the owner of the establishment.

You put on wall I said with my Thai accent. He smiled and humoured me by sticking it in an obscure place not really knowing much about it and certainly well away from his Manchester United shrine that had incense and flowers around it.

Hence the blip today. The All Blacks beat France but somehow Manchester United came out the winners in this place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.