fitzbilly

By fitzbilly

Wednesday Afternoon 3 pm

I've been thinking about getting some filters for ages now but always give up confused by the complexities and dismayed by the cost. In the end though I took the plunge and ordered myself a screw on variable ND filter. I thought it might encourage me to go outside my comfort zone, plus we have a long exposure competition coming up where I thought it could be useful. Also it wasn't too expensive so not a lot lost if I don't find it worthwhile.

It arrived this morning so I popped out this afternoon to try it out, not sure what sort of images would be possible. I had expectations of something where I could paraphrase Dylan, along the lines of 'he can paint the daytime black'.

I didn't really think it through though as I had the ISO set to auto so ended up with lots of short exposure, high ISO images, like this. Taken at 3pm, so a little bit of painting the daytime black. More work and thought required.

In other news we've booked a few nights away in Fowey for my birthday next month, so something to look forward too.

Also our solar panel installation is back on track. We got approval from the grid as long as we limit the export (sounds mad to me that they can't handle the minuscule amount of excess power we might generate). Installation next week, with scaffolding coming on Friday. The scaffolding firm are based in Barnstaple. That seems a bit mad too.

Finally I signed up to do a week long radio diary for Ipsos/RAJAR. I did this once before, many years ago I think, and got a £5 cash reward. This time I get a voucher, still just £5.

One year ago:
Spot The Robin
Today must be the day for booking holidays. Maybe it is Blue Wednesday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.