Ice Palace

The mountains and hills were looking beautiful this morning with all the snow. I was out before sunrise to shoot the mountains as they turned pink, and then white. While trying to get a special shot I looked down at my feet and saw this puddle. I forgot about the mountains. There were so many amazing patterns I could hardly believe it.

At last after four days the bad weather lifted. As often happens we did not get it as extreme here as it was in places in the rest of district and island. We had 7 or 8 cm of snow, just over 70mm of rain + snow in the rain gauge, a fraction of what fell elsewhere, but we did get the polar wind. It was miserably cold. This morning's frost took the temperature down about 5ºC lower, but it felt a whole lot warmer. I was able to discard my polyprop layer and make do with the merino undershirt. I wandered about taking photos without wearing a coat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.