Marik_i

By Marik_i

Reading again

It has been a long time since I have read anything, and I have been worried about myself. I have blamed myself, when I should have blamed the quality of new books!
The book I am reading now, is Aleksi from Finland (Aleksi Suomesta), the narration of a young soldier, written down by a known writer Tuomas Kyrö. Aleksi, the soldier is a former French Foreign League soldier who went to Ukraine when the war started. His narration is not a news reel movie, but from the middle of the battle, where you are facing the live enemy and the gun. It is rough reading, but I feel that we have to at least read what it is when the Ukrainians must face it on their own streets and backyards. When I was five years old, we had the Winter War, three months of blind attack and bombing, -40' C cold, no weapons, just men thrown to the front, same as Ukr. now.
I am reading, because it is well written and because one must read it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.