Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

ABSTRACT THURSDAY - VIEWPOINT

I knew that I had a busy day today, and that it would start well before I got to Knit & Knatter at the Community Fridge.

I was due to help a friend on a video chat at 9 o’clock and expected this to finish by 10, so when I saw these beautiful crystals of frost on the outside of our conservatory window when I went downstairs at 8 o’clock, I thought it would be a good subject for AT.  Of course, I have played around with it on my iMac and you may or may not agree that it fits the theme - but I’m happy with it.  Nature always amazes me and these beautiful ice crystals were no exception.

The video chat was good but went on for longer than either of us anticipated, but when I said at 10.30 that I would have to leave because I needed to be at the Community Fridge by 11 o’clock, I was graciously allowed to leave and I think by then we had virtually finished.

I had a great time at the Community Fridge with some wonderful conversations but I never did one stitch of my knitting, which is a shame, but for me, chatting to people is much more important.  I know that one lady has been coming to Church but always sits on her own and when I went up to speak to her, she was reading a magazine, but she soon showed me that she was willing to chat and we spent a very pleasant half hour with one another.  

I met several others and invited one couple to Church and another young couple with a baby to the Pram Club, which is held on a Friday morning - so a good morning and after all, as I told one group of people, we are a Church-based organisation and we need to encourage and welcome those who come into the Community Fridge. Most of those who come probably don’t want to be part of such a group, but they are there for a reason, and possibly not just to collect free food but to chat with those around them and it is a designated Warm Space within our Borough.

Now I’m home and about to sit and do some knitting - need to get on with these gloves for DEBRA, our favourite charity shop - otherwise the cold spell will be over and we won’t need gloves, fingerless or not!

After Community Fridge I went round to see an Italian lady who was our next door neighbour whilst our boys were growing up and until we moved in 1982.  We have kept in touch with her and her husband, who died 17 years ago, and their family, so it was good to see Maria, who is now almost 95 years old, and to have a chat with her.  I left with a bottle of Limoncello, which she insisted I took - so might have to have a little glass of that later.  If you look at this Street Challenge Blip from 2016, you will see a shot of Maria.

Stay safe and warm - it’s going to get even colder tonight.  M xx 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.