Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

WARMING SOUP ON A COLD DAY

I had taken some shots of my tulips this morning, ready for Flower Friday, but then decided on this one of Mr. HCB.

After reading about Geoff, Rainette’s lovely husband, making Bacon and Lentil soup, I decided to have a go in my soup maker, particularly as I had got some bacon from the Community Fridge yesterday.  As volunteers, we too, are allowed to have five items and there was lots of bacon, ham and bread yesterday, so I brought home a pack of bacon and a Rosemary Focaccia loaf.  

I found a recipe for the soup maker, given to me by my Mum several years ago and used the bacon in the soup, with lentils, a small sweet potato, carrot and an onion.  I had never used the sauté function on the soup maker before, but it worked a treat, just starting off with the onions and bacon, and the kitchen smelt wonderful - with apologies to any vegetarians reading this!

Once that was done, and it only took about 3 or 4 minutes, I tipped in the rest of the ingredients and switched it on.  It only takes 21 minutes and then it has to be blended and boy, did it all smell good.  

The only downside is that it is rather high in calories per portion, but I was very restrained and only had a small portion myself, but of course, gave Mr. HCB much more.  I toasted the Focaccia bread and we sat in the conservatory, in the sunshine, enjoying it, which is why you have this shot of Mr. HCB and not my tulips!  When I asked him how many he would give me out of 5, he said 4½ so I’ve told him that’s the last time I’m making soup for him!

Now waiting for some friends to come for afternoon tea - and coffee, in my case.  We will be sitting in the conservatory, but may need to come indoors once the sun goes down, because the temperature tends to plummet then.

Hope you all have a great weekend and stay warm and safe.  Our son, who lives in Vietnam, wanted to know what the weather was like here and when I told him -3C with a chilly wind, he said he was struggling with 25C;  what a shame!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.