A GAME OF CRIBBAGE - AND THE WINNER IS...

...Mrs. HCB - but no photograph of me because I certainly don’t want to gloat, well not much, anyway!

Mr. HCB and our visitor have been playing quite a lot of Cribbage just lately, but today it was my turn to play Mr. HCB - and I am pleased to day I beat him by 2-0.  However, he is a very good sport and didn’t seem to mind!  He is probably hoping that his team, Tottenham Hotspur will beat Manchester City by the same amount this evening, but the sadness for him is that we will be at our Church Meeting, so he won’t be able to watch the match, and although I often encourage him to record it if we are out, he says it’s not the same when you know the score.  I daresay we could try not to speak to anyone about it during or after the meeting or listen to the radio on the way home, but inevitably, the news will leak out and he will either be smiling widely or sobbing!  I do tell him it’s just a game, but you can imagine how that comment goes down!  

After the English class at Church this morning, I took a pair of navy blue fingerless gloves over for the 10 year old son of some Church friends, as they are Spurs’ supporters, and I understand he is very happy with them - perhaps I should knit some now for Mr. HCB too as a consolation prize.  

You might be interested to know that the cribbage board was made by Mr. HCB over 50 years ago, so I guess it could be classed as "vintage" and a family heirloom, so better put that in our Letter of Wishes to go with our Wills - we don’t want any arguing when we have both “popped our clogs” - and although it is not of great monetary value, of course, there will be a sentimental value to it.  

The top of the cribbage board is made of polished copper and the pins are made of rivets - all courtesy of British Railways.  Of course, 50 years ago, cribbage was “all the rage” and played in pubs and working men’s clubs up and down the country and Mr. HCB was taught by his father and he, in turn, taught me and both our sons - I was a very good pupil, as you can read and our younger son often beats him too.

However, bearing in mind the wise words of Luke last Sunday, “It’s not winning that’s important, it’s having fun!”  

“What’s the difference between
     a man playing cribbage and 
          a man arguing with his wife?
The man playing cribbage has 
     a chance to win!”
Anon

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.