ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Not A Second Time

Another bitingly cold day and I’ve not ventured out of the house at all. It’s been enough of an effort just trying to stay warm. No blip opportunities as such, but I think I can share a bit of news I received on Tuesday. You may recall that I was part of Lancaster Footlight’s production of “Blackadder” last year, portraying the character of Lord Melchett. We did three of the six episodes that made up the second series of Blackadder, and as soon as it was over we were talking about the doing the other three episodes.
Initially there was doubt about doing this as there are not many female parts in those episodes and there was also the issue of should the “main” characters be played by the same people, or should we re-audition. There was also the small - but important - issue of whether or not we could get the performance licence from the rights holders.
After a lot of rumours, we have finally received the news that it is definitely going ahead in October, the main characters will be played by the same people and there will be open auditions for all the other characters. I think the popularity of last year’s show, combined with our enthusiasm to do the other episodes, had overcome any doubts the production committee may have had about the limited cast.
Rehearsals probably won’t start until July/August but, because I have the complete Blackadder scripts and I know what character I’m playing, I’ve started looking at my lines already. It would be rather nice - not to say unprecedented - to turn up at the first rehearsal knowing all my lines!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.