The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Fieldfare

I've mentioned the fieldfares up in the Park a couple of times this week.  There have been good numbers of them and redwings, their fellow travellers from Scandinavia.  They have been frustratingly difficult to get close to even with the biggest lens, but this one today stayed long enough on the wire for me to get a passable shot.  And when it flew eventually, I managed to get a reasonable in flight shot (see extra).

I've enjoyed this week of deep frosts which has enabled me to explore the Park more without having to get muddy boots.  It looks like it's all change tomorrow, but at least that means we will be warmer in the house.

The builders have had a good week, despite the cold: the joiners were finishing off their first fix (if that's what it's called), the insulation is done, the loft and loft hatch are installed in the garage, and everything is ready for the arrival of the plasterers and the window fitters on Monday.  Then from a week Tuesday, the drainage and soakaways will be going in.

Now we're off to see the farmers, so I shall be back here later this evening or tomorrow morning.  And I'm freezing from sitting in the unheated computer room - it's time to move!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.