Kendall is here

By kendallishere

A moment of sunlight

We had about five minutes of bright sun, but the rest of the day was gray, icy, miserable. I chose this photo because I wasn’t able to see Margie in person this week, though I see this photograph of her every day, and I’ve talked with her on the phone a few times. I have a magnetic white board hanging over my piano, and I hang a few of my favorite B&Ws there. I should mention that the one in the upper right corner of the white board, of Sue and me at Pentre Ifan, was made by Ceridwen.

The weather is frightening. Many people have no power. Trees are falling because it has rained so much that their roots are essentially swimming, and with great gusts of wind against their frozen branches they come crashing down on power lines. One family was killed when a falling tree caused a live power line to drape over their car. They were OK inside the car, but when they attempted to exit, they stepped onto wet ground and were electrocuted. There have also been a number of deaths from hypothermia of houseless people. The police and emergency services do not publicize deaths of houseless people if they cannot find and notify next of kin.

Seth was able to drive Cristina to the airport despite the weather. She’s flying to Arizona as I write this. Juan, her father, is having surgery and she wants to be there. 

I’m very lucky. My power has stayed on; I laid in plenty of groceries before the storm started; I have books, piano, stationary bike, and Netflix. The pandemic taught us how to live fully without leaving our homes. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.