What I've Done

By JohnGravett

Latterbarrow

After my exertions of the last two days, we decided it was best to have a gentle day. I have  commission to do some photos of certain towns in the Lakes for biscuit tins / shortbread etc - unsurprisingly, Keswick was easy as I have a pretty extensive library. Hawkshead however, I have some - but not as much as I'd like. So we decided to have a look there. Surprising how much more snow there was south of Dunmail Rise - and the main car park at Hawkshead was 2" thick solid ice. 

We had a walk round the village, and I shot a few images, then we took a stroll up Latterbarrow - a little hill near the village. After the efforts of the past few days with ice axes and crampons, it seems we were more likely to break a leg walking here - sheet ice on the paths all the way up - and back down the other side. Fortunately we had studs for our boots in the bottom of our rucksacks, which really saved us. 

The pic was taken on the way down from the top. We stopped for a sandwich, and the sun came out to illuminate this tree - I made a few photos of the tree, then tried a landscape composition to include the snow-covered Coniston fells in the background, which I felt made a picture with more depth.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.