Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

A Good Day for Knitting

John staggered up the front steps with an impossible to open box containing a Molcajete.  Long before the Vitamix, there was the Molcajete a mortar and pestle made of basalt. It’s used to grind spices, chiles, seeds and to make salsas and guacamole. Finding a place to put it is the current challenge. I’ve always admired them and this one seems especially well designed. I’d like to leave it out on the counter, especially since it weighs 25 pounds, but something else will have to go to make room for it.

A pot of utensils that stands next to the stove is a good candidate, but we have had a pot of utensils next to the stove for almost 60 years and I’m not sure I could cook without it there….It is a constant battle to keep the top of the kitchen counter relatively uncluttered…I think I’m losing the battle at the moment but it’s my own fault.

The weather is dark and periodically raining, usually just as we’re heading out the door. We got in one short walk in the almost sunshine but it started pouring so we came home. My sewing machine is still in the shop, so I resurrected some knitting that’s been abandoned in the bottom of the basket for a year or two. (extra), rode my not a Peloton and spent most of the rest of the day sitting on the couch watching the birds making a dash for the feeders between showers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.