Choose Joy

By Energia

Visiting in-laws

For some reason we do not have ketchup. Once upon a time, when I was young, I thought I had food in my refrigerator and one of my friends firmly informed me that I had no food, I only had condiments. Maybe when we got the new fridge we threw out everything expired and didn’t buy new ketchup? Last week I wanted ketchup and we had none.

Today we drove to Karen’s parents and I saw this enormous bottle of ketchup and proudly proclaimed to Karen that her in-laws have ketchup. Karen’s mother is a fabulous cook, gourmet chef quality, and she quickly corrected that one of my in-laws has ketchup!

And that is my silly for the Saturday. Thank you Admirer forever for that challenge, 2023 must have been hard because it was the year I started not always having something silly to post on Saturdays. 

The roads were clear and well salted and traffic was easy. Only one car drove crazy and we saw them getting a ticket later. Karens parents are delighted that I drove her up here. 

I’m thinking “twin” cities are the same as the “sister city” concept. Towcester, in south Northamptonshire, has twinned with Zhydachiv, which is near Lviv. Volunteers in Towcester have been working with Oleh Naida, a former Zhydachiv resident who now lives in Towcester, to organize six aid missions to Ukraine. They’ve donated 20 vehicles including two ambulances and supported a therapy project. 

Germany gave Ukraine ammunition for Leopard 1 tanks, armored personnel carriers, missiles, drones, and helmets. The aid includes 16 Zetros tanker trucks, eight armored personnel carriers, 50 mobile satellite terminals, 25 Heidrun reconnaissance drones, and 1,840 helmets.

Ukraine took credit for shooting down a Russian surveillance plane. This would have been such an extraordinary accomplishment that Russians are claiming Ukraine did not do this, Russia did this. It would be better for Russia to have shot down their own plane than to admit that Ukraine was able to do it. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.