Living my dream

By Mima

Watcha doing now?

Poor old Bean has such a hard time waiting for me to finish messing about taking photos when we go for a walk…

It has been warmer than expected today, although a good five degrees below yesterday’s maximum - and so much more comfortable for that. As a result I’ve been flat-tack outdoors and then in; catching up on some of the jobs which stalled in a sweaty heap over the last two days. In between cheese-making.

The most time-consuming task has been peeling the multiplying onions, to prepare them for pickling tomorrow. My usual foolproof method to aid peeling - to plunge them into boiling and then ice-cold water - didn’t work, and it took me over an hour to get the skins off 1.5kg pickling onions. I was seeing double after that effort. But it’ll be worth it.

I got a Red Leicester cheese underway. The first one I made about six months ago was good, so that’s another cheese to be repeated regularly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.