BRIANW

By BRIANW

Hot Milkshakes (Unbelievably Good)?!, Aylesford

The past few days here have been really cold, well for us Southern softies at any rate! When I got into the car (very kindly my brother takes me to Barming station every week day) to go to the station on Friday morning the temperature was -4 and very bitter with it. I really, really just wanted to go back to bed but work called so I had to head towards London. Luckily, work was pretty busy so the day passed quickly and I was soon heading home on a quieter train than earlier in the week.
Today I woke exhausted but as it's Saturday I could afford to relax. We just had a leisurely day popping to the pub, watching telly and drinking wine. Perfect.
By the late afternoon it was time to start making the evening meal. I decided to make vegetarian tuscan bean soup and it was so nice to have time to do the prep slowly. We're trying to have more vegetarian meals and this sounded good so I thought I'd give it a go. I always find with vegetarian dishes if you add more aromatics and the likes of chilli, yoghurt and parmesan you really don't miss meat at all. The aromatics I used were some my brother had left over from making his delicious shoulder of pork at Christmas - star anise, fennel seeds, cinnamon, cloves and peppercorns. The end result, even though I say it myself, was pretty darned good!
Today's image is a slowish exposure taken on the main road very near home. I liked the juxtaposition of lurid advertisement for hot milkshakes (yuck!) and cars as they streamed past.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.